“healthy”

by breannruthwhite

SONY DSC

Adding the word “healthy” in front of a dessert recipe has become quite the popular marketing strategy. I mean, who doesn’t want to feel less guilty about eating dessert? I spend a lot of time scanning the internet for these recipes… healthy cookies, healthy muffins, healthy tiramisu… what? It is out there. It doesn’t taste very good. But it’s out there. Shameless in its grossness.

Fortunately, there are a lot of tasty, “healthy” cookie recipes, many of which source from one of my favorite online recipe journals.

My husband is often dismayed by the amount of time I spend scouring this site for new healthy baking ideas.

“What’s the point of eating a cookie,” he wails, “if they taste healthy?”

SONY DSC

It’s easy for him to say. The guy could swim open-mouthed through a river of gravy twice a day without gaining a pound.

Lucky for me, I have an open mind about these kinds of things. Obviously I would never turn down a blessedly butter-rich, crispy and gooey chocolate chip cookie. But if you ask me, there is something very rewarding about eating a cookie that tastes a little more interesting. A little more… yeah, healthy.

SONY DSC

This cookie recipe calls for carrots. I know what you are probably thinking… but stay with me. These cookies have that pleasantly crispy edge from the coconut oil, a nice chew from the carrots, oats and raisins, and will fill your house with the sweet fragrance of maple syrup baking into whole wheat flour.

My toddler son, I should note, loves these. Especially if yogurt-dunking is involved. I love them with coffee or tea.

Also, when it comes to dessert, I tend to make small batches. The recipe I have posted below yields a batch of roughly 12 little cookies. Feel free to double it or triple for a crowd.

Wishing you all a happy long weekend!

SONY DSC Carrot Oatmeal Cookies

Yields: about 1 dozen cookies

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup unrefined coconut oil, warmed until just melted

Preheat oven to 375F degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and oats. Add the raisins and carrots. In a separate smaller bowl use a whisk to combine the maple syrup, and coconut oil. Add this to the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

Drop onto prepared baking sheets, one level tablespoonful at a time, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie. Bake in the top 1/3 of the oven for 10 – 12 minutes or until the cookies are golden on top and bottom.

